Our network

Dog Ears Director Thanks Community for Gala Support

Dog Ears Director Thanks Community for Gala Support

Tom McDonnell, director of Dog Ear Bookstore & Café, would like to thank the South Buffalo community and beyond for supporting the nonprofit organization’s annual gala, held on April 30 at the Buffalo Irish Center.

“The entire community stepped up to help make this event — our largest annual fundraiser — a great success,” said McDonnell. “Thanks to our many volunteers and everyone who donated auction items, their time and money, we will be able to continue our community outreach and extensive literary programs.”

McDonnell would like to extend a special thank you to the 30 volunteers from RealtyUSA who worked both day and night to guarantee the success of the event, including Matthew Whitehead, manager of RealtyUSA’s West Seneca office, and his 5-year-old daughter Olivia. 

Community Sponsors

Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Western New York native Kali Quinn will return to Buffalo this weekend for a reading and book-signing event from 1 to 3 p.m. Sunday, May 22, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.

Part memoir, part curriculum, part field guide, her book “I Am Compassionate Creativity” explores the integral relationship between compassion and creativity, especially within moments of uncertainty and when moving through deep grief. Quinn’s research stems from years of performing solo theater, teaching within universities across the country, and growing up in Buffalo.

“I didn’t want to publish a book and just put it online and in bookstores,” explains Quinn. “I wanted to reconnect with family and friends in-person and deliver my book to them in their homes. I wanted to take these stories on tour and create a movement.”

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

What sets Buffalo and Western New York apart from other regions as a fun and unique travel destination? According to a recent online survey of “America’s Favorite Cities,” which ranked Buffalo at the very top of its travel list, categories such as architecture, craft breweries and public parks are hugely important to today’s trendy travelers. Restaurants and food also rank high atop the wish list of these road warriors.

Annunciation Seeks Full-time Parish Secretary

Annunciation Seeks Full-time Parish Secretary

The Church of the Annunciation, 7580 Clinton St., Elma, seeks a full-time parish secretary to provide administrative/secretarial services and support in a collegial environment dealing with many different people and situations. 

Candidates should be a practicing Catholic who qualifies for a sacramental Letter of Recommendation, and have three to five years working in a general office setting with public interaction. An associate’s degree and/or secretarial training is preferred. 

Desired skills include: 
• The ability to keep information confidential
• Organized and efficient
• Typing, computer, writing and filing skills
• Communicates very well
• Professional appearance and attitude
• Compassionate
• Have confidence and humor 

Community Sponsors

Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Hamburg author Jeff Schober will host a book launch for “Faces and Fingertips,” his new crime novel, from 5 to 8 p.m. on June 7 at Larkinville, 745 Seneca St., Buffalo, as part of Food Truck Tuesday.

Published by No Frills Buffalo, “Faces and Fingertips” is the third book in a crime series set in Buffalo during the 1980s. The two prior books were “Broken and Profane” (2011) and “Boneshaker” (2013).

“Faces and Fingertips” continues the story of former Buffalo detective Ken Connell as he recovers from a shooting. R.J. Sorrentino, a sketch artist who is Connell’s friend, makes a grisly discovery and approaches Connell for help.  

“My crime novels have been called fierce and compelling,” Schober said. “Faces and Fingertips will appeal to readers who like Michael Connelly or John Sandford.”

South Buffalo Alive’s Annual Parade of Circles Set for June 5

South Buffalo Alive’s Annual Parade of Circles Set for June 5

The Parade of Circles, an annual event celebrating beautification projects along McKinley Parkway in South Buffalo, will take place at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, June 5. The event is presented by South Buffalo Alive, a nonprofit community organization dedicated to improving the quality of life in South Buffalo through ongoing preservation and beautification efforts.

Established in June 2001, the parade runs from Dorrance Circle to Heacock Park and is followed by a picnic in the park with plenty of activities for the kids. The parade will feature music and dancing as well as community groups that help make the neighborhood a special place in which to live.

Rick Smith of Rigidized Metals Corp. will serve as the parade’s grand marshall. The event will also honor the New York State champion South Park High School football team.

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Mark Hannon, author of “Every Man for Himself,” a crime novel about racketeering set in Buffalo during the early 1950s, will take part in a book-signing event from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 25, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.